Exchanging legacy currencies for euro

The euro is currently legal tender in 19 EU Member States. The euro legacy currencies may still be exchanged for euro at the respective national central bank under certain conditions.

Exchange of Austrian schillings


The OeNB will exchange unlimited amounts of schilling banknotes and coins of the last series for euro for an unlimited period.

Legacy currencies of other euro area countries may be exchanged only at the respective national central bank and its branch offices. Each euro area country has determined exchange periods for its legacy currency. You may also send old currencies to the respective central bank by registered mail and be reimbursed if you state your bank account information.

The OeNB will not exchange legacy currencies other than the Austrian schilling.