OeNB Euro Survey

OeNB Euro Survey_Balken

A survey on the use of the euro in Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe

The mission of the OeNB includes the economic analysis of the countries of Central, Eastern and Southeastern Europe (CESEE). To this end, the OeNB regularly conducts a survey of households in CESEE: the OeNB Euro Survey collects unique information about (euro) cash holdings, saving behavior and debt, and looks into respondents’ economic opinions, expectations and experiences.

Currently, the OeNB Euro Survey is conducted in the following ten countries:

  • 6 EU Member States: Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania
  • 4 Non-EU Member States: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia

From 2007 to 2014, surveys were conducted twice a year, in April/May and in October/November. In 2015, the survey frequency was reduced to once a year (autumn).

Samples consist of 1,000 randomly selected respondents per country and represent the population over 14 years. Samples are representative with respect to age, gender and regional distribution.

Further links

  1. Main results
  2. Publications
  3. Technical details of the OeNB Euro Survey
  4. Overview of sociodemographic variables
  5. Previous surveys of the OeNB in CESEE