Bank holidays

Austrian banks are closed on Saturdays and Sundays and on the following public holidays: January 1 (New Year), January 6 (Epiphany), Easter Monday, May 1 (Labor Day), Ascension Day, Whit Monday, Corpus Christi, August 15 (Assumption of Mary), October 26 (Austrian National Day), November 1 (All Saints’ Day), December 8 (Feast of the Immaculate Conception), December 25 (Christmas Day) and December 26 (St. Stephen’s Day). December 24 is a holiday for banks, while Good Friday is not a holiday but a TARGET closing day on which special payment processing modalities apply.