Carl Menger Prize

The German economics association Verein für Socialpolitik has introduced a prize named after Carl Menger, Austrian economist and co-founder of the Austrian School of Economics. The Carl Menger Prize will be awarded every two years at the association's annual meeting. The prize will be bestowed on economists in recognition of excellent research work relating to monetary macroeconomics and monetary policy. To qualify for the prize, contenders must teach at a European university and be no older than 45 at the time the prize is awarded. Nominees for the Carl Menger Prize are proposed by an expert panel. Direct applications are not considered.

The prize is co-sponsored by the Deutsche Bundesbank, the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB) and the Swiss National Bank (SNB) and has been awarded for the first time in September 2014. The prize money is EUR 20,000.